My lower back still hurts every time I wake up and get out of bed. It’s been so long since I did yoga that I can’t even touch my toes anymore. I want to take one of those yoga classes. I don’t trust the child-care at the gyms, so I will have to wait until Kiki is at least in preschool. Even 3 days a week would be great.

My dream is to drop the kids off at school (we will all walk, of course) and run for however long I want, then go to yoga class for an hour a few days a week. I like to run in daylight, and on the road or on a trail. I’m not so fond of the track, but in the winter, an indoor track sure comes in handy, especially if you can only go running in the wee hours while it’s still dark. There’s one here where I live, about a mile away, so I can get up before the kids and go running/walking, but I don’t know if there will be one where we move. I think we’re moving this summer.

So I might be buying a treadmill for the winter months. I can’t bear to run when my cheeks and nose feel like falling off for the cold. So far, my experience with treadmills is limited. My mother-in-law has one. While we were getting new carpets, the carpet company messed up our order, causing us to require relocation for about 2 weeks. We had moved every scrap of furniture out of our apartment, and the carpet had been delivered. The installer came in and ripped up the existing carpet in 2 bedrooms and the living room. The other bedroom had been stripped previously, because of the mold problem. The flooring under the carpet was old, old vinyl tile that was impenetrable to staples because of the cement under it. That’s right, cement. There were those wooden strips with little metal spikes all around the perimeter of the rooms.

When the carpet guy unrolled the new carpet a little bit, he noticed a nice line through it, which he told us could possible go through the entire length of the piece. He advised us that with a flaw like that, it was likely that the carpet would not last long. He told us we could choose whether to have it installed anyway, or call up the place we bought it and make them replace it. So we decided to have it replaced.

My good mother-in-law invited us to stay at her house until the carpet was installed, since I didn’t fancy us all sleeping on the vinyl floor, nor did I want my 2 1/2 year old or my 4 month old to get impaled on the nail strips. Oh, and we didn’t have a kitchen, since the remodellers had gutted our entire kitchen.

So, there I was, at Grandma’s house, with my 2 makulit little boys. Funnily enough, that was one of the most pleasant 2 weeks I can remember. Probably because I totally took advantage of my mother-in-law. I could go shopping without the kids, I could let them run free in her house even while I was there… I’m surprised she still talks to me. Anyway, she has this treadmill in the basement. I tried it, and it totally made me dizzy. I didn’t like it at all. But if it’s going to be -16 degrees outside, I’d rather have a treadmill than not go running.

For a little while, I had this fantasy of living in Hawaii. I would run on those crazy roads through the jungle that they were always driving the Corvette on in Magnum P.I. I would have pineapples in my garden. Too bad all the people I know who grew up in Hawaii are weird.

