I was up with Gozer from about 1:00 a.m. until about 3:30. He was coughing, whining, crying, yelling, and really wanting to watch Home Alone. I gave him some cold medicine, and snuggled up on the big chair with him and a blanket, and put the movie in. I was a zombie, so I wasn’t really paying attention to anything, until he said, “My moustache hurts.” I told him I was sorry.

This morning, I asked him if his moustache still hurt, and he said no.

I made vegan chocolate cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes take over the World yesterday, with vegan chocolate “mousse” frosting. I wish the cupcakes would rise a little more, but they’re acceptable. The frosting uses a block of silken tofu with chocolate chips. Who would ever think to blend up tofu with chocolate chips? It’s pretty good, but I wouldn’t have called it mousse. It’s more like Jello pudding consistency, except it tastes much better. It actually tastes like chocolate.

I made the gingerbread cupcakes last week, and they fell. I was pretty sad, because I was going to give them to a family in the neighborhood that just had their 4th baby via C-section. I made them some bread and a salad, while another neighbor made some kind of casserole. (I’m a little opposed to casseroles, except for a good moussaka.) So I thought it would be nice to have a little dessert, but they just didn’t look presentable. So of course I ate them all. Or at least most of them. They had chopped up crystallized ginger in them, but it turned soft and gooey. That part was great. I love gooey. I’m going to try that recipe again and see if I can prevent the collapse.

I’m not vegan. I’m not even vegetarian. I just think it’s important for our health to consume mostly plant matter, with the occasional animal product. I have strong feelings about the treatment of animals in agribusiness, but haven’t gone all the way to not using them at all. I cook mostly vegetarian, and a lot vegan. Maybe I’m preparing for the big switch.

I think North Americans are way too dependent on meat, and it’s all psychological. People think they have to have it at every meal, and especially at dinner. I just do not agree. If it’s protein you’re worried about, there are plenty of alternatives to flesh. And I don’t just mean tofu. Why does everyone think tofu is the only thing vegetarians eat for protein? And that they always just eat it plain? I love baked, seasoned or marinated tofu. So do my kids. I also love stir-fried tempeh, mushrooms, every kind of bean on the planet, all the nuts, grains, and seeds. I could easily be vegetarian. But I’m still too lazy.

At least I know how to make a cupcake without any eggs. That skill may come in handy someday.

