I got my own, personal interview from one of my new favorite bloggers, Azúcar. I found her doing a random google search, and it turns out she lives just a few blocks away from me, and we share some common interests. Yay! So she read up on my quirkiness, and sent me these questions. If you would like an interview from me, I would love to do it. Just ask me in the comments.

1. How did you start running or figure out that you love to run?

I come from a family of runners. My Grandpa was a Utah record holder for the mile, about 70 years ago. While I was growing up, my parents started running, and gradually joined the group of semi-psychotic masochists called “ultra-runners.” These are people for whom a marathon is just not enough. Both my parents have run the Wasatch 100 mile Endurance run, which, for the record, is one of the more strenuous of the 100-milers. I grew up with an expectation that I would run it someday too.

I ran on the track and cross-country teams in high school. I once got a school record for the 800 meter, which was snatched away the very next week. I was also on a team that got a record for the medley relay, where I ran the anchor leg, also 800 meters. I ran on and off through college, never going more than 6 miles. After Calvin was born, running was so painful that I thought I would never be able to do it again. Then, after Zeeb was born, I gained about 20 pounds in a very short time, and I decided I needed to try again.

I started with 2 minutes at a time and got up to 45 minutes in about 3 or 4 months. My cousin asked me to team with her for the Blue Mountain to Canyonlands Triathlon, so I had incentive to get up to 6 miles again. After that, I would hear about a race and just enter it. So that summer, I ended up running 2 half marathons, the Provo River and the Hobble Creek. I don’t recommend doing those both in the same year, since they’re 2 weeks apart. But I loved them both. I loved finding out I could run 13.1 miles in 1 hour and 47 minutes. Even if it was all downhill.

2. Where did you go to high school and what did your prom dress look like?

I went to high school in Salt Lake City, Utah, at West High. I graduated in 1993 with no special honors, because I was too lazy to do homework. I almost didn’t graduate because of my F in AP English, but my teacher let me make up the work 2 days before graduation.

My prom dress? Well, my mom made it. I’m gonna see if I can figure out how to scan a photo, and I’ll post it when I get it done. It was a long flowy cream colored skirt with a shiny cream brocade jacket that I loved. Looking back, I kinda wish the shoulder pad thing had never come into fashion. The surprise is that I actually did go to prom. We didn’t have a senior prom, just a junior prom. But it was still the thing. I had a date because a friend of mine felt bad that I had to go to homecoming with someone I didn’t want to go with (I was in the royalty, so I had to go), and this friend promised me he would take me to prom whether or not he had a girlfriend by then (7 months later), which he did. He was even kind enough to double with the guy that I really had a crush on. Well, he later married that girlfriend, and the other guy married his prom date. I’m not sad.

3. What was your major in college, did you ever change it, and did you graduate?

When I started college, I thought I would major in English. As it turns out, I never took a single English class, even for GE. For a while, I was a music major, then I changed to microbiology, then I went back to music. I thought about Linguistics for a while, but I decided I should just graduate. Which took me 8 years. I have an obsession with languages, and since BYU offers millions, I had a good time taking at least one language class per semester, for a total of about 40 hours of languages (that I didn’t need, since I majored in music). I took Italian, Spanish, German, French, and Russian.

I majored in organ performance, but discovered I really didn’t like giving recitals when I nearly died of nervousness during a recital at the Cathedral of the Madeleine, in Salt Lake. I still play once every two months in church. And yes, I have played the organ in the Tabernacle. And no, I have never wanted to play at a baseball game.

I was also accepted as a trombone performance major, which I thought was funny, since I hadn’t applied. I think they just really wanted a few more females in the major. They offered me a scholarship. Also funny since I only learned how to play the trombone because I had some friends who played, and I thought it would be funny. Yes it was. I played in the Cougar Marching Band for two years.

4. We already know you love The Hero & the Crown, name three other fiction books that you would force us to read.

This is like asking me to name my favorite child. I have now spent several days trying to think of my three favorite books. Well, here’s a try:

Seventh Son, by Orson Scott Card. I think the storytelling in this one is beautiful, and the story is interesting. It’s definitely from the fantasy phase, but definitely not the unicorns and fairies part of that phase. I left that behind when I was 12, right before I went into the sci-fi phase. Also from the fantasy side (OK, OK, I didn’t really leave it behind) is Goose Girl, by Shannon Hale. It falls in there with Hero, as a book about an empowered young female, and is lovely.

I really liked Smilla’s Sense of Snow, by Peter Hoeg. It’s a mystery, and the writing is brilliant, especially in the first half. The ending sucks rocks, though. But I love mysteries, probably more than any other genre. Agatha Christie saved me in Vienna when I was locked in the apartment all day and didn’t feel like learning Chinese. That’s another story for another day.

I also read a lot of the Newberry winners and honor books. One of my favorites was The Giver, by Lois Lowry. I like dystopia novels, they help me with my parenting skills. Another dystopia one I liked was Feed, by M. T. Anderson.

5. If you could move anywhere, where would you live and why?

To a farm where I could pretend to be useful, but really watch the paid farmhands do all the work. It would be a farm with big mountains nearby and a mild climate. I would have chickens for eggs, a few sheep for wool, bees, a milk cow, a gigantic herb garden that I would harvest and sell at the local farmer’s market, a gigantic flower garden, ditto, and lots and lots of vegetables. And a horse for my daughter. And I would like it a lot if it were in the south of France.

6. Bonus question: What is your favorite Austrian treat or food (and if you say hazelnut Manner Schnitten, I’ll know we’re separated at birth.)

Hazelnuts and chocolate are a combination worthy of the Nobel Prize. But honestly, if it has sugar in it? I love it.  I went to the Hotel Sacher once and had Sachertorte and Hot Chocolate mit Schlag after the Opera. I love a good Apfel Strudel. And at the Markt in Salzburg, I got the best Lebkuchen ever. I liked the Mozart Kugeln, but for some reason I liked the fake ones better than the real ones. I’m a marzipan snob, and my mom makes the best marzipan ever. Spell-check does not like this paragraph.

Now you know everything that is important about me. I run, read, play the organ, speak several languages, like to garden, like sweet stuff, and above all else, I’m really lazy and don’t do any of that stuff.

