Two things:

1. I am now famous. WOO HOOO! Alright, alright. I’m not very famous. OK, not even a little. But I did send in a cooking tip to Fine Cooking Magazine, and they did like it, and they did publish it in the June issue, which just came out. However, I did not win the prize for the best tip. It was a pressure cooker, so perhaps it’s just as well. Who needs a pressure  cooker?

2. My best friend from forever sent me the sweetest birthday card and present. Karee and I have know each other since kindergarten, and have lived far apart for the past 13 years. She has always come to visit me when she comes to Utah, she has remembered my birthday, and sent Christmas gifts for my boys, even though I’m pretty much too lazy to even send a letter. She sent me one of those letters that, no matter how low you’re feeling, you come out knowing there is someone in the world that loves you. She also sent a beautiful necklace with the Chinese symbol for friendship, and a bag of circus peanuts, you know, those neon orange marshmallow things.

The letter was lovely, and the necklace is something that I will wear and love, because it’s pretty and it reminds me of Karee. But the circus peanuts? There is no-one else in the world that understands me like Karee does. She and I didn’t go to the same school, but we were constantly together. Our favorite thing to do was to walk about 1/2 mile to the store to buy candy. We did it all the time. ALL the freaking time. I think the walk was the only reason we never gained weight. We were burning off what we would later consume. I don’t EVER buy circus peanuts, because I have this problem. I pretend to have all these principles about eating healthy, but I am so addicted to candy

Karee, the circus peanuts are gone. I didn’t share them with the boys. The were perfect: a little stale, but not crunchy. I tried to hide them from myself, so I wouldn’t eat them all in one day, but it didn’t work. They’re gone.

