To answer Compulsive Writer’s question, cliché, you ask? I think I can top anyone’s meeting-the-husband cliché, especially if you are Mormon. I am from Salt Lake City. I had already been on a mission, and was finishing up my bachelor’s degree at BYU. I had already spent a few too many years in school, and was about to start my Senior year. I met Derek in church. He is from Bountiful. Well, Woods Cross, to be exact, but to anyone who’s not from there, it’s the same thing. And yes, he came to BYU after his mission president told him to transfer to BYU from the University of Utah, in order to find himself a wife. He was 21, but looked like he was 16. He was adorable. When I saw him, I’m pretty sure I leaned to my roommate and said, “I think I need to marry that boy.” To finish the cliché contest, our ward, the BYU 95th ward, met in the Wilkinson Center, in the Cougareat. Right next to Subway. Derek was addressing the Relief Society (the women’s group), as a member of the Elder’s Quorum (the men’s group) presidency. He called us “The Sister’s Quorum.” It was too cute.

Oh wait, there’s more. We got engaged about 6 weeks after we started dating for real, and got married 4 months later. Derek wanted to propose at Stewart Falls, but got lost. He droves us back down to Bridal Veil falls, and proposed there. We reserved a the tower room of the Manti temple right after Christmas, but because Derek’s cousin and grandpa couldn’t climb the stairs and Derek’s mom thought it was too soon, we changed it to the Salt Lake temple right after Valentine’s day. So by the time we were married, we had know each other for 9 1/2 months. I know, I know. It sounds so foolish. And perhaps it was, for Derek. But if you know him, you know I was right to snatch him up before anyone else could get their hooks into him.

Since we got married just before Presidents day, we had a three day weekend for our honeymoon. We took another two days, and drove to Logan and stayed at a bed and breakfast, where Derek discovered spinach-bacon quiche. We got back to Provo in time for mid-terms.

I didn’t want a reception, a bouquet, or a cake, but our moms won out. Since it was the middle of February, we decorated with Valentine’s stuff. It was cute. We had three pink heart-shaped cakes, each a different size, that my brother NungNung decorated. My step-dad hired a harpist, and the reception was at the ballroom at David Gardner Hall, at the U of U.

It was all really wonderful. I still can’t believe my good fortune, finding someone as spectacular as Derek.

*If you want to do this meme, go to CW’s house and get the real questions. You know we all love to read each other’s love stories.

