I have looked forward to this day with great anticipation for several years, and now that it is here, imagine my surprise as Calvin gets on the schoolbus for the very first time, and I get choked up that my baby is not a baby, and he’s leaving me for the world. (OK, it only lasted for a split second, but I almost shed a tear. And I know that kindergarten is not really the world, but I’m leaving my son’s care and learning in someone else’s hands for 3 hours a day!)

He’s been ambivalent about school. So excited one day, and sour and unwilling the next. This morning he woke up and the first words out of his mouth were, “Mom! I’m going to school today!” Within an hour, he was crying about how he didn’t want to ride the bus, or learn to read, or meet any new friends.

But when we went out to meet the bus, he with his name tag and backpack on, he fairly danced about until he finally spotted the bus. He gave me two hugs and two kisses, and jumped up the steps without turning back. He didn’t even wave to me out the window. And no, I didn’t get a picture of him getting on. Zeeb, on the other hand, shed great tumbling tears that he couldn’t go with Calvin. He kept telling me, “I’m five too!”

Zeeb and Kiki are both asleep now, and I’m terrified to take a nap, because what if I sleep through the time we have to go meet the bus when he comes home? It’s in 2 1/2 hours, but I’ve been know to take amazingly long afternoon naps.

* * *

Ha! I won’t have to take a nap after all. The UPS guy just arrived this second with my copy of this:

picture-2.png

