I’ve tried to explain the problems with the music world for a long time, but I’ve never been well-read enough, nor eloquent enough to explain it. Luckily for me, my cousin Rachel did it on her blog.  Go read about corporate influence on Mass Culture Music.

If you’re LDS, and interested in the state of music in church, please go see this discussion at Exponent II. This is such an important topic to me. I think most of you know that I’m an organist, and that I have my degree in music. Yet I’m always afraid of offending people with my choice of prelude, postlude, and musical numbers. I want so badly for members of the church to broaden their horizons and accept the wonderful body of sacred music that is available, but it’s hard to know how to help without seeming (or being) overbearing, opinionated, and pushy. All of which I am.

