We got the power back the other day. We were without power for 10 days, total. I’m a little sad thinking about how much the loss of power simplified our lives, and how I don’t know if I’m ready or willing to jump back into all the old time-suckers.

I had 150 emails in my inbox, and 97 blogs posts on my reader. Some of you have been waaay too prolific.

Cooking has been so simple, with just the gas cook top, no microwave or oven. I also tried to limit the number of pans I used, to make cleanup easier. I couldn’t keep much in the freezer that I packed with ice, so I didn’t have to worry about buying much at the store, just what we would cook and eat. Simple meals, simple preparation, simple cleanup. I did fantasize about cupcakes every single day, though. And I don’t even like cupcakes.

We read books by flashlight, and went to bed when it was dark. We were really, really tired by the time it was dark.

We spent a lot of time outside. All the neighbors were always outside, too, so we did a lot of talking.

We watched the tree guys saw up and remove the giant tree that had cracked the power pole that feeds our block, and we watched the power guys who had been shipped in from New Jersey as they replaced the fallen pole. It was awesome. When they finally restored the power and drove away in their cherry-pickers, everyone on the street went outside into the dark night, with their porch lights on, and cheered the power truck parade. They honked and waved like royalty.

There were no video games, no movies, no canned music, no emails, no news (did the financial market crash or something?). We had hot breakfast every day. Who new that “fried bread” could be so incredible? Or that cold milk could be a delicacy? We also had my kids’ favorite breakfast, “toast with French on it”. If you need the recipe, I can provide it, at no charge.

So I have already spent a couple of hours on the internet today, and I’m feeling it. I just don’t know if I can keep it up. I have also thoroughly scrubbed down my refrigerator and done three gigantic loads of laundry in a washing machine, instead of the bathtub.

I felt so tough, not eating out like everyone else, washing in the tub, hanging stuff out to dry, not using the TV to babysit my kids. Now I’m just back to my old, lazy self. Boo hoo.

Not that I would give my power back.

